Acknowledging culture and history – a view of St Patricks from the expat world.

Guiness en 568 ml.

Being half Irish and the mum of an Irish born son I can't say we don't celebrate but we don't do it to Dublin standards!!! T went to school today in his Ireland rugby shirt and his teacher was disappointed that I hadn't dressed up….well if my mum doesn't send me shamrock what am I too do!

Funnily I was considering that I "celebrate" or mark this date more now I live abroad and have a child then when I was a child or young single woman. Why is that – now I want my son to know about his heritage and being abroad makes heritage more important than when you live there with it? Now I get why my mother and grandmother send shamrock and St Patrick's day cards – to keep the cultural heritage that family members share no matter where they are in the world.

So enjoy your St Patrick's Day the way you celebrate and honour it.

Slainte!

Powered by Plinky

